Marriage

Marriage

Marriage

In Switzerland you must be 18 years old to marry. Only marriages concluded in a Registry Office are recognised. The ch.ch website contains a summary of the key personal and financial consequences of marriage. The Registry Office for the community where you live can tell you about the requirements to be met and the documents needed.

Rights and obligations

In Switzerland spouses (woman/man) are equal and have the same rights and obligations by law. The right to freely choose one’s partner also applies. Accordingly, families or other people do not have the right to force women or men into a marriage against their will. If you feel you are being forced into a marriage you can contact a specialist advice centre.

 

The organisation Zwangsheirat.ch offers free advice, help and support to women, men and children affected or threatened by forced marriage. Conversations and information are treated in the strictest confidence. The helpline number is 021 540 00 00.

Heirat

Heirat

Heirat

In der Schweiz muss man 18 Jahre alt sein, um heiraten zu können. Es werden nur Ehen anerkannt, die in einem Zivilstandsamt geschlossen werden. Auf der Internetseite ch.ch finden Sie eine Übersicht der wichtigsten persönlichen und finanziellen Folgen einer Eheschliessung. Das zuständige Zivilstandsamt Ihres Wohnortes informiert Sie über die zu erfüllenden Voraussetzungen und die erforderlichen Unterlagen.

 

Rechte und Pflichten

Ehepartner (Frau/Mann) sind in der Schweiz gleichberechtigt und haben laut Gesetz dieselben Rechte und Pflichten. Es gilt auch das Recht auf freie Wahl des Partners bzw. der Partnerin. Familien oder andere Personen haben demnach kein Recht, Frauen oder Männer gegen ihren Willen zu einer Heirat zu zwingen. Wer sich zu einer Heirat gezwungen fühlt, kann sich an eine spezialisierte Fach- und Beratungsstelle wenden.

 

Die Organisation Zwangsheirat.ch bietet von Zwangsheirat betroffenen oder bedrohten Frauen, Männer und Jugendlichen kostenlose Beratung, Begleitung und Unterstützung an. Die Gespräche und Angaben werden streng vertraulich behandelt. Die Nummer der Helpline lautet 021 540 00 00.